HOME | MEMBER'S AREAblank
OCBA
search
Need Legal Help?
Committees

2013 - 2014 PRACTICE & SERVICE COMMITTEES

If you are interested in joining a committee, please read the following committee descriptions and then fill out a Practice & Service Committee Form.

The following PDF documents require Acrobat Reader available free from Adobe.

OCBA Practice and Service Committees Form

Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) encourages the use of ADR by the legal profession, judiciary, government and public through education, training and strategic alliance. The ADR Committee meets on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at the OCBA office.

Marty Burnstein (Chair)
(248) 723-0803
mburnstein@martyburnsteinlaw.com

Richard Hooker (Vice Chair)
(248) 567-7403
rahooker@varnumlaw.com

Continuing Legal Education (CLE) oversees CLE seminars offered by the OCBA. The CLE Committee meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Mission Statement:
To promote the educational and professional needs of the OCBA members through information and training to help them practice proficiently, competently, professionally and ethically throughout their careers.

Kaveh Kashef (Chair)
(248) 642-9692
kkashef@clarkhill.com 

Marc Jerabek (Vice Chair)
(248) 901-4016
mjerabek@plunkettcooney.com 


Criminal Law is charged with the advancement of the criminal law system in both district and circuit courts and coordinates the Criminal Brown Bag seminar series. The Criminal Law Committee meets on the third Wednesday of each month at noon at the Oakland County Courthouse.

Tim Flynn (Chair)
(248) 625-0600
tflynn@karlstromcooney.com

Deborah McKelvy
 (Vice Chair)
(248) 644-2854
mckelvyjd@aol.com

Diversity in the Legal Profession creates networking, referral, employment and other opportunities for minority attorneys; works to ensure equal opportunity and promote collegiality among diverse groups of attorneys. The Diversity Committee meets on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 8:15 a.m. at the OCBA office.

Mission Statement:
The mission of the Diversity Committee is to increase awareness in the Oakland County legal community of the need to provide equal opportunity for all lawyers and support personnel through education and programs sponsored by the Oakland County Bar Association and in collaboration with other legal organizations, and to promote participation in the activities and governance of the Oakland County Bar Association of lawyers with all varieties of diverse backgrounds.

Lori Frank (Chair)
(248) 424-9777
ljfrank@collectionlaw.com

Lawrence Garcia (Vice Chair)
(887) 643-6255
lgarcia@garcialawgrouppllc.com

Employee Benefits Law is concerned with all facets of employee benefits including substantive presentations each month. The Employee Benefits Committee meets on the second Monday of each month at noon at the OCBA office.

Roberta Granadier (Chair)
(248) 433-7200
rgranadier@dickinsonwright.com

Employment & Labor Law is concerned with all facets of labor & employment law. The Labor and Employment Law Committee meets on the second Tuesday of the month at 8:30 a.m. at the OCBA office.

Robert Tice (Chair)
(248) 409-1910
robert.tice@ceflawyers.com

Michael Hamblin (Vice Chair)
(248) 565-8093
mhamblin@hamblinlaw.com

Family Court is concerned with the education of attorneys and the public with regard to operation and legislation in the field of family law. Studies existing statutes and proposed legislation in this area. Charged with improving the practice of domestic relations. The Family Court Committee meets on the first Wednesday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the OCBA office. 

Keela Gracey (Chair)
(248) 641-7070
kgracey@brmmlaw.com

Ryan O'Neil (Vice Chair)
(248) 656-9600
rmo@markcranelaw.com

Forum for In-House Counsel is designed for in-house counsel, corporation counsel, and transactional attorneys to provide educational programs and a forum to discuss relevant topics. The committee meets on a quarterly basis at 7:30 a.m. at the OCBA office. Please refer to the online Calendar of Events for meeting dates.

Matthew Koziarz (Chair)
(248) 988-8360
mkoziarz@cgolaw.com

Jordan Bolton 
(Vice Chair)
(313) 965-8365
jbolton@clarkhill.com

Juvenile Law is concerned with all facets of the juvenile and family justice system including legislation, court proceedings and treatment. Coordinates Juvenile GAL training seminar and the Juvenile Brown Bag seminar series. The Juvenile Law Committee meets on the fourth Thursday of each month at 12:00p.m. at the Oakland County Courthouse.

Doug Oliver (Chair)
(248) 879-8339
dkolaw@sbcglobal.net

Nichole Smithson (Vice Chair)
(248) 804-7944
dkolaw@sbcglobal.net

Law Related Education Committee works with schools throughout Oakland County. Programs of the committee include the annual Youth Law Conference, a one-day conference for high school seniors that features a variety of legal issues as they pertain to the students, as well as educates them about the legal process and provides them with tools for better decision making. The committee also coordinates the Elementary Mock Trial Program with teachers who wish to engage their students in a mock trial preparation for a performance in either their local district court or Oakland County Circuit Court. The Law Related Education Committee meets the fourth Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Kathy Fox (Chair)
(313) 577-8038
foxk@wayne.edu

Kristopher Hulliberger (Vice Chair)
(248) 645-1483
kkh@h2law.com

Lawyer Referral Service (LRS) works to increase the efficiency and service of the LRS program. They improve and provide the best possible way for the public to be connected with competent and appropriate legal counsel, in addition to providing OCBA attorneys with increased business while maximizing their available pool of cases and clients. The Lawyer Referral Service Committee meets quarterly on the fourth Tuesday of the month at 12:00 p.m. at the OCBA.

Lynda Krupp (Chair)
(313) 967-5690
lkrupp@ladadetroit.org

Eric Lumberg (Vice Chair)
(248) 626-8383
lumberglaw@gmail.com

Lawyers of a Certain Age (LOCA) serves OCBA members ages 62 and over with the following priorities:

Social - Support/sponsor a variety of social activities that allow interaction with the larger bar association and targeted peer communities that address challenges such as isolation, family concerns and declining health;

Transitions in Practice - Develop and find partnerships for programs that support lawyers as they prepare or respond to transitions in their practice whether it is from reducing their practice (full-time to part-time), going from a large firm to solo, closing a practice, planning for retirement or unexpected practice transitions such as diminished capacity or sudden unexpected incapacity; and

Capture the Special Skills of LOCA - Creat opportunities/partnerships for Lawyers of a Certain Age to contribute their talents as seasoned experienced lawyers through integreation with OCBA programs and activities and also to serve the Oakland County Community at large

The group meets quarterly at 4:30 p.m. at the OCBA office. Check the online Calendar of Events for meeting dates and topics.

Judy Cunningham (Chair)
(248)332-2967
jude17@scbglobal.net

Hon. Edward Sosnick, ret. (Vice Chair)
(248) 646-0888
esosnick@spclaw.com

Membership is responsible for maximizing the membership, reviewing and recommending various types of services available to the OCBA that benefit current members and encouraging new membership. The Membership Committee meets the third Wednesday of each month at 5:15 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Liz Luckenbach (Chair)
(248) 351-3000
eluckenbach@jaffelaw.com

Lisa Hamameh (Vice Chair)
(248) 539-9906
lhamameh@fosterswift.com

Municipal Law consists of lawyers with specialized interest in municipal law and who represent clients who dealing with municipalities. The Municipal Law Committee meets the fourth Wednesday of each month at 12:00 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Bradley Benn (Chair)
(248) 858-0558
bennb@oakgov.com

David Asmar (Vice Chair)
(248) 858-0456
asmard@oakgov.com

New Lawyers Committee plans networking events and socials for members with less than ten years’ experience. They also organize fundraising and volunteer events for civic groups and charities. The New Lawyers Committee meets the first Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Geoff Brown(Chair)
(248) 355-4141
geoffrey.Brown@ceflawyers.com

Syeda Davidson (Vice Chair)
(586) 469-6522
sfhdavidson@gmail.com

PALS (Providing Access to Legal Services) is charged with implementing programs that provide an understanding of the legal system within the community and with effectuating the positive presence of lawyers in society. The Public Service Committee meets the third Monday of each month at 4:30 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Mona Jabr (Chair)
(248) 766-5164
jabrmona@yahoo.com

Amanda Breasbois (Vice Chair)
(248) 506-2184
abreasbois@yahoo.com

Paralegal is responsible for improving legal assistants’ position in the legal profession through networking and public service. The Paralegal Committee meets on a quarterly basis -- watch the online Calendar of Events for meeting details.

Laurie Hagen (Chair)
(248) 355-4141
laurie.hagen@ceflawyers.com

Leisanne Smeadala (Vice Chair)
(248) 881-7987
leisannesmeadala@gmail.com

Probate, Estate and Trust works with the Probate Court to advance programs and services in all aspects including mental health and elder law. The committee coordinates the biennial adult GAL seminar. The Probate Committee meets the fourth Monday of each month at 5:00 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Barb Andruccioli (Chair)
(248) 740-5683
b.andruccioli@kkue.com

George Gregory (Vice Chair)
(248) 647-5700
ggregory@ggregoryonline.com

Real Estate provides members and guest speakers an opportunity to discuss current decisions and laws affecting the practice of real estate. The Real Estate Committee meets the fourth Tuesday of each month at 8:00 a.m. at the OCBA office.

Steven Samona (Chair)
(248) 565-8582
stevensamona@thebizattorney.com

John Bommarito (Vice Chair)
(248) 594-3839
jbommarito@atatitle.com

Solo/Small Firm Listserv was established in 2011 as a resource to our solo members. The listserv provides participants a means of circulating questions, suggestions and ideas pertaining to their law practices with other members via email. To join the OCBA listserv simply click the link http://listserv.ocba.org/SCRIPTS/WA-OCBA.EXE?A0=OCBA-SOLO_SMALL_FIRM and follow the directions to subscribe. If you have any problems, contact Katie Tillinger at ktillinger@ocba.org or (248) 334-3400. 

Student provides students with opportunities for professional growth and development through association with the Oakland County legal community in programs and events focusing on law. The Student Committee meets every other month -- watch the online Calendar of Events for details.

Aaron Kochenderfer (Chair)
(586) 697-6106
aaron.kochenderfer@gmail.com

Ronald Tolbert (Vice Chair)
(248) 528-8516
tolbertr@oakgov.com

Tax is concerned with the substantive and procedural law of federal, state and local taxation. The Tax Committee meets the third Tuesday of each month at an offsite location.

Bill Sigler (Chair)
(248) 355-5200
wsigler@maddinhauser.com 

Evan Kaploe (Vice Chair)
(248) 567-7400
ehkaploe@varnumlaw.com

Veterans Committee focuses on veterans issues including recruitment of OCBA members to take pro bono cases related to veterans' matters, heightened awareness and increased observation of Veterans Day in Oakland County, support to deployed military men and women through provision of care packages, sponsorship of a Veterans' Speakers Bureau, and support of Veterans Courts.

          Robert L. Farnette (Chair)
        (248) 884-8402
        ltcrlf@gmail.com

        Kristina Derro (Vice Chair)
        (248) 921-3302
        kderro@fb-firm.com

Limited Committees

Circuit Court is a liaison between the OCBA and the Circuit Court and its judges in matters of mutual concern relating to the operation of court. The Circuit Court Committee meets the second Monday of the month at 5:00 p.m. at the OCBA Office.

Marcia Ross (Chair)
(248) 338-4559
rs9@comcast.net

Jonathan Frank (Vice Chair)
(248) 642-0500
frank@jackiergould.com

Circuit Court Case Evaluation oversees the selection of Circuit Court Case Evaluators. The Circuit Court Case Evaluation Committee meets the third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 a.m. at the OCBA Office.

Paul Knight (Chair)
(248) 244-8931
paul.knight@farmersinsurance.com

Ronald Weiner (Vice Chair)
(248) 557-1155
rw-249@zmspc.com

District Court examines various areas of concerns and works to resolve problem areas that might arise involving the District Court operation and the OCBA. The committee oversees the selection of District Court mediators and the operation of the case evaluation systems. The District Court Committee meets the third Monday of the month at 12:00 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Michael Cavanagh (Chair)
(313) 792-6846
michael_cavanagh@mascohq.com

Margaret Scott (Vice Chair)
(248) 539-2854
mscott@secrestwardle.com

Legislative works with the Board of Directors and our lobbyist to promote the OCBA’s position on current and pending legislation that affects the practice of law and the administration of justice. The Legislative Committee meets the fourth Monday of the month at 4:00 p.m. at the OCBA office.

Richard Poling, Jr. (Co-Chair)
(248) 641-0500
rpolingjr@aol.com

Sheldon Larky (Co-Chair)
(248) 644-4843
sheldonlarky@aol.com

Medical/Legal is composed of physicians and attorneys who deal with inter-professional relationships and matters of concern to both professional groups. The Medical/Legal Committee meets the first Thursday of each month at 7:45 a.m. at the OCBA office.

Craig Hilborn (Chair)
(248) 642-8350
craig@hilbornlaw.com

Geoff Brown (Vice Chair)
(248) 355-4141
geoffrey.brown@ceflawyers.com

Special Event Committees

Golf Outing

Mark Harper (Chair)
(248) 647-6000
mharper@patlaw.com

Race Judicata        

 Wayne Kauffman (Chair)
 (248) 591-0977
 kauffman.wayne.s@gmail.com

Tim Martin (Vice Chair)
(248) 641-0270
tmartin@hdp.com